Mar 07

Print this Post

Literacy Success

Congratulations go to Fiona McCafferty, who has won first prize in the graphic novel category of the Scottish Book Trust awards. Judges praised her work as ‘visually outstanding’ and of such a high standard it would already read as a published graphic novel. Congratulations also to Rhys Nelson, who was awarded second prize in the same category, with judges commending his ‘really very strong use of panels and display’. Six other students were highly commended for their use of cinematography and editing in the trailer category. They are Lucy Lloyd, Millie Beckett, Aimee Hendry, Marcelina Grygiol, Grace Salt and Erin McCulley.

Congratulations also go to our school librarian Shelagh Toonen, who was one of only two people who were highly commended in the Learning Professional category of the Scottish Book Trust Awards. This accolade adds to her runner-up award in the UK School Librarian of the Year  in 2017. Hugely deserved accolades for an inspirational member of staff.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.elginacademy.co.uk/?p=12135